Gotta quit the bad habits

In April, I went to Las Vegas with my mom and my aunt and I promised them and myself that before I left the city of lights I would quit smoking.  At the Las Vegas airport I dumped half a pack of cigarettes in the garbage and didn’t look back – until July 21st when my dad passed away and I walked out of that hospital in my brothers arms and asked for a cigarette – we always go back to what we know will provide any kind of relief. I have never smoked so much since that date then I have in my entire life.

However now, now I need to prepare my body and mind and for me, that means quitting smoking again.  Usually this isn’t a problem, but my brain has used the smoking as a crutch and that crutch has been leaned on regularly.  I am cutting down for sure – down to five or six a day which may seem like a lot but I am embarrassed to say how many I was smoking prior to this week. 

My baby needs a healthy body to grow and develop and I know this and while I still have at least 6-8 weeks before any kind of insemination will take place, that only gives me a few weeks to quit completely.  That has me a bit nervous.

I also need to cut back on the sugar, my sugar intake is so high and while again, prior to my dads passing, I had been on a good role, I need to get back into it.  I am determined to make my body a safe place for my future child.  I know women who smoke while pregnant and who eat crap while pregnant and they have beautiful, healthy babies, but I really want to make sure I am giving my child the best chance.

Wish me luck!  Did you give up anything to be pregnant??

Love

Nicole

2 thoughts on “Gotta quit the bad habits

  1. Honey, you are a strong, determined woman and I have no doubt that you will be able to accomplish whatever you set out to do. I am so proud of you and my love, thoughts and prayers are with you now and will be throughout your amazing journey to motherhood!!!

Leave a Reply

