Something stinks…

In August when I first got Simba, we were out for our nightly walk when ahead of me I saw a black cat..walking ahead of us.  Upon closer inspection, I saw a streak of white.  SKUNK!  I quickly steered Simba away from the approaching skunk and we quickly walked home.  I haven’t had any issues with Skunks since then, thank you GOD.

Until Friday…

Around 9:15 Simba gave me the “I have to GO mom” look.  I put him in the backyard as I have every night for the past four months because it was to cold for us to walk just so he can pee.  I went and put another box away assuming he’d bark or scratch at the door to be let in.  After a few minutes when I didn’t hear anything I peeked out the back door window and that’s when my heart froze.  A LARGE black creature was making his/her way passed Simba and just as I opened the door he started barking *SHIT*…I saw the streak of a white tail go up and that’s when my shrieking voice called for Simba to get inside.  Unfortunately it was too late.  He kept barking and the skunk just stood there ass up, spraying the backyard and my poor pooch.

Simba, finally altered by screaming, came running inside and I tried catching him so he wouldn’t go to far into the house, but the stench hit me like a ton of bricks.  He started rolling around on the floor and after my initial shock I grabbed the nearest towel and picked him up and locked him in the bathroom so I could make a run out to Sobeys to pick up Tomato juice.  I called my cousin and he and his wife gave me some home remedies to try.

I spent the next hour rubbing tomato juice and Dawn dish soap into Simbas stinky fur alternating with hot water.  Finally, with my hands burning and sore, I took him out of the tub, dried him off and put him in bed with me.  He was still so stinky, but at that point it was past 11:00 and I was exhausted.  Crying, *yes I was emotional and crying* we went to bed; though Simba was hacking and coughing all night so the amount of actual sleep I got was minimal.

The next day I woke up early and called his daycare/vet and they agreed I should bring him in and they would bathe him in “Skunk off” for me.

Long story short(er) – they bathed him, and at my recommendation they shaved him to make it even better.

One shaved puppy coming up!

One shaved puppy coming up!

I don’t know who was more upset that night, him or me, but I am grateful that ordeal is over and Simba and I will be walking together from now on!

Thank you Ajax wildlife, you have officially “welcomed” me to the neighbourhood!

Love

Nicole

6 thoughts on “Something stinks…

  1. You have both been initiated – you are not a real dog owner until you have dealt with the aftermath of being skunked!! Been there, done that – 3 times!

  2. I am lucky to say my own animals have never been sprayed, but I do remember my brother getting sprayed with his friends in High School. Mom still has a good laugh about that one

Leave a Reply

