Is it to early??

In September, when I was at the mall, I saw some Christmas items already placed out for sale.  The majority of the stores were prepared for Hallowe’en and Thanksgiving, but Christmas was starting to sprout its roots over Toronto. Even I threw up my nose in disgust!  I hadn’t even bought Simba’s Hallowe’en costume, let alone a nice warm Christmas sweater!

I never get ready for Christmas until after Remembrance Day, I was taught that it was disrespectful (though how I don’t know because really, I can respect soldiers under a twinkling Christmas tree!) however I wait.  Patiently I check off the days and after November 11th it’s no holds bar!

This year with my first house, I have a mantle and hence I have bought a garland to drape across it, some gold candles, a gold wreath for the door and I have also placed out all my Hallmark snowmen.  I have the few Christmas crafts up that I made as a child and this weekend my tree will go up and the rest of the house will be completed!

Some people thinks it’s to soon.  That December 1st is the first day that is acceptable to put up Christmas decorations.  If I were American I would agree because their Thanksgiving is the end of November.  Ours was October…why do I need to wait??  I like Christmas and it makes me happy.  Not a lot of things make me happy – truly heart warmingly happy, so I am going all out for Christmas this weekend!

Next weekend I will have started and completed my Christmas shopping with my sister-in-law, because we are doing our annual Black Friday trip and a week or so after that I will invite my oldest niece over to wrap presents and continue my dads tradition with her of Swiss Chalet and Christmas music!  It’s fun and fun = good!

My christmas cards have been signed and sealed for almost two weeks now, but I won’t mail them until the day I leave for Grove City, which means people will get them on December 1st.  I have over 40 cards to write out so I do it while I watch tv so I get them all done.  Also, I don’t give everyone the same card – I use different cards for different families as I buy a ton of cards after Christmas to save money.  I like them to be a bit more personal so some cards have special messages – my old stomping ground peeps all have a message this year because it’s my first Christmas not having it at my dads house, not living and waking up on Sedgemount.  This is hard, yet special for me.

Last Christmas was postponed due to Ice Storm Toronto 2013, so this year I am praying for NO snow.  I know, I know, I’m sorry.  I have to drive to my brother’s family’s house this year so I’d prefer no snow/ice to make the drive a little less chaotic – and wet – I hate wet dog smell and it’s the 18th of November and Simba has been out twice already with snow and he smells gross when he’s wet.  Just sayin’…

So if you are like some of my friends who have had their trees up and presents wrapped for weeks – good for you!  If you are like the other half who curse everyone whose thinking Christmas already – good for you too!  We can all do whatever we want and the good thing is, is that NO ONES opinion matters. This is a personal choice and I have made mine!

Have fun and love each other people!  That’s what this season is all about!

Love

Nicole

3 thoughts on “Is it to early??

  1. Love you honey and if putting up your Christmas decorations now make you happy – go for it! Me, I’m just not that organized yet!

Leave a Reply

