The Wildlife in Ajax

I hate Mondays…especially in the Fall, Winter and Spring.  Mondays mean that when I come home, I need to put my recycle out and every other week the garbage needs to follow.  Tuesdays are my pick up day so Monday nights mean hauling the trash down to the curb.  This is pure laziness on my part.  I am well aware of this.  When I get home from work, I want to do nothing – especially not drag 3 – 5 bins down to the roadside.

Last night when I pulled into the driveway (it was still bright outside thank you day light savings!) I opened the garage door from inside the car and let Simba jump and run out ahead of me.  I giggled as he ran up to the front door and then bounced happily into the garage sniffing everything.  I quickly went in to grab the tall blue recycle bin when out of the corner of my eye, I saw it…

A raccoon was curled up (asleep?) in one of my large black garbage cans.  I squealed for Simba to get inside (he doesn’t get along with wildlife really) and quickly dropped the box I was carrying and ran in the house behind him.  After settling Simba down with dinner, I snuck outside and tossed one of his poop bags at the garbage can hoping I would scare the raccoon and he would run out.  No. Such. Luck.

I threw another poop bag and then grabbed my shovel and started banging the side wall of the garage.  Nothing.  I tip toed carefully to the garbage bin and peaked in and I saw the fur of this damn animal still chilling (dead/asleep) in the bin.  At that point, my fear radar was off the charts and I walked back inside determined that I had a new roommate.  I named him Jeff (after my friends husband who won’t come help me get rid of him).  I kept my garage door open until about 8:30 last night and then closed it and went to bed.

Waking up this morning, I completed my morning routine and after securing Simba and I in the car, I pushed the button to open the garage door.  Nothing.  The boxes that I had dropped there the evening before had been tipped over and messed up a little, but no signs of Jeff the raccoon anywhere.  I flashed my lights and drove up as close as I could, but either Jeff escaped last night or  he was well hidden (in my garbage can?).

Thankfully tonight I have my college class and won’t be home till late, so Jeff and I do not need to deal with each other – but if I see him tomorrow, well it will be him V. me and I pay the mortgage and property tax so his ass needs to vamous!

Love

Nicole

2 thoughts on “The Wildlife in Ajax

  1. lol ohhhh, racoons are such trouble makers!!! They truly do not give a ‘F’ either! Start checking around for entrance spots to your garage from outside- they can sneak through pretty small holes- and make sure that there is nothing that gives access from the garage to the house either, because they looovvveee attics! Hopefully Jeff was just passing through! 🙂

Leave a Reply

