The love for a boyband

When I was 8 years old, my father took me to my first concert. It was New Kids on the Block. I can clearly remember sitting in the 200 section of the Sky Dome (now Rogers Centre) and crying harder than I had ever cried before whenever Jordan Knights face popped up on the Jumbotron. I was 8 and I was in love. I fully expected Jordan to see me (all the way up on the second deck) and bring me on stage and serenade me. Of course that never happened, but that was my first and favourite memory of my dad and me spending quality time together.

I had every tape (kids go google what a tape cassette is) and poster and magazine dedicated to NKOTB and especially Jordan. I had a Jordan pillow and a Jordan doll and I would listen to the same songs over and over again until I am positive both my mother and my father wanted to strangle me. Now sometime in the early 90’s NKOTB broke up and stopped making music together. I was devastated, but I moved on because by that time I was almost a teenager and my hormones were taking over for real people, not just celebrities whom I didn’t stand a chance with.

I heard on Twitter (thank you Social Media) that Zayn Malik left One Direction (2015’s NKOTB). Little girls (and not so little girls) are destroyed. You would think they were just told their parents and best friends had died! They are crying, breaking things, threatening suicide (kids don’t play around with this word – it’s NOT cool) not going to school because they are torn up about Zayn leaving 1D. Now I have heard of 1D, I don’t live in a bubble, but I had no idea who this kid was so of course I headed over to google.

This was the first google image I found

This was the first google image I found

After scrolling through this sweet man’s photo’s I get it.  I totally, inappropriately get it!  He’s gorgeous.  I’d be sad too if I liked 1D and if I had been a fan/follower/stalker of this band.  If Jordan or Donnie (my second favourite NKOTB) had left the band just as they were reaching their prime, I would have probably cried in my corn flakes too.

SWOON

SWOON

Ahhh the boy band members – they have to know the drama behind their kind sweet, sexy eyes.

Good luck Zayn, I wish you all the best and hey – maybe you’ll end up with a Solo career a la Justin Timberlake from NSYNC

I remember these curls!

I remember these curls!

And ladies you are welcome for all the man candy on my blog today…

Love

Nicole

One thought on “The love for a boyband

Leave a Reply

