Sometimes life throws lemons at you – hard

This past week has been exhausting both physically and emotionally.

  1. I was in a car accident last Wednesday when didn’t seem to be that big of a deal, but after calling my insurance company and reporting it to the collision center and bringing it to the mechanic for a quote and dealing with body stiffness from the sudden hit (yes I hit him…) my emotions have been up and down.  I feel like an idiot for having my first accident – EVER, yet at the same time, I feel there was a million things I had do and without my dad to call and cry to I felt awful and remembered just how much I miss him and his ability to look at everything very rationally.
  2. My mom’s blood pressure has been through the roof – seriously it got up to 214/105 at one point!  I have taken her to emergency, shes gone to her regular doctor and been to Shoppers for blood pressure testing everyday and it’s like a roller coaster with no straight lines.  Her doctors don’t know what’s wrong, they have done a cat scan, an ECG and numerous blood tests – all normal!! NORMAL??!!
  3. The rental car I got on my first day driving it got a flat tire on the main highway and as it was rush hour traffic – no one would let me over!!!  It took an hour for me to get CAA to come and change the tire and then was told I had to go to Enterprise to change the vehicle as I couldn’t drive it with a spare on the highway!  I had to take my whole lunch break (and I was also an hour late for work) to get that done.
  4. My insurance company said GOOD NEWS, I have accident forgiveness.  BAD NEWS, I have a $1000 deductible which means I am out a grand! dammit.  My adoption agency money also just went through and that was $500.00 so in a matter of a couple of days my entire pay check is gone and I haven’t paid rent or eaten.  Huh…

They say God doesn’t give you more than you can handle, I just wish he’d pave the way of riches to make the bumps a little easier!!

The great news is that my PRIDE classes are finished and my home study is one step closer to being completed!!!!  This is so exciting and makes 1-4 totally okay at the end of the day.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes life throws lemons at you – hard

  1. I’m sorry about your accident but so very happy you are OK. Apart from your Mom’s very high blood pressure, which is a real concern, the rest is just “life”! We have all had days, weeks and months that just seem to be one thing after another, and you will have them like everyone else and you will handle them because you are strong, awesome and capable. Look on the bright side honey, weeks like this will make you well prepared for “parenthood” when things are going to get really interesting. Remember, ” that which doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger” (and I ought to know)!!!!! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

